United States
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

About

US-SCAR

The U.S. SCAR (US-SCAR) Office at the University of San Francisco is a focal point for U.S. participation in SCAR. The US-SCAR Office is funded by the NSF Office of Polar Programs, Antarctic Sciences. The National Academies Polar Research Board serves as the U.S. National Committee to SCAR, and the U.S. Antarctic scientific community is represented by the US-SCAR Team. US-SCAR promotes polar science within the U.S. and the international Antarctic scientific community by facilitating the participation of U.S. scientists in SCAR activities and supporting U.S. attendance, particularly of early career researchers, at the SCAR Open Science Conferences, the SCAR Biology Symposia, and the SCAR International Symposia on Antarctic Earth Sciences.


US-SCAR Team

The members of the US-SCAR Team are your representatives. Contact information is provided for the US-SCAR Team if you would like to receive further information about SCAR programs or activities.

Lead Delegate to SCAR

Deneb Karentz karentzd@usfca.edu (term: 9/1/2018 -- 7/31/2024)
Professor, Departments of Biology and Environmental Science, University of San Francisco

Alternate Delegate to SCAR

Allan T. Weatherwax weatherwaxa@merrimack.edu (term: 9/1/2018 -- 7/31/2024)
Dean, School of Science and Engineering, Merrimack College

SCAR Geosciences Scientific Group Representatives

  • Sridhar Anandakrishnan sak@essc.psu.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Professor, Department of Geosciences, Pennsylvania State University
  • Peter Doran pdoran@lsu.edu (term: 9/1/2018 -- 1/1/2024)
    Professor and Chair, Department of Geology and Geophysics, Louisiana State University
  • Samantha Hansen shansen@ua.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Professor of Geological Sciences, University of Alabama

SCAR Physical Sciences Scientific Group Representatives

  • David Bromwich bromwich.1@osu.edu (term: 5/1/2016 -- 1/1/2021)
    Senior Research Scientist and Professor, Director, Polar Meteorology Group, The Ohio State University
    Chief Officer of SCAR Physical Sciences Group
  • John Cassano john.cassano@colorado.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Associate Professor and Fellow, Cooperative Institute for Research in the Environmental Sciences, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Erin Petitt pettiter@oregonstate.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Associate Professor of Glaciology, Oregon State University

SCAR Life Sciences Scientific Group Representatives

  • Byron Adams byron_adams@byu.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Associate Professor of Biology, Brigham Young University
  • Charles Amsler amsler@uab.edu (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Professor of Biology, University of Alabama | Birmingham
  • Marc Shepanek marc.a.shepanek@nasa.gov (term: 5/1/2016 -- 1/1/2021)
    NASA Deputy Chief of Medicine of Extreme Environments
    Deputy Chief Officer of SCAR Life Sciences Group
  • George Watters george.watters@noaa.gov (term: 1/1/2016 -- 1/1/2022)
    Director, Antarctic Ecosystem Research Division, NOAA Fisheries | SW Fisheries Science Center

National Academies

Laurie Geller LGeller@nas.edu
Senior Program Officer for the Polar Research Board and the Board on Atmospheric Sciences and Climate

US-SCAR Webmaster

Joseph Souney joseph.souney@unh.edu
Research Project Manager, University of New Hampshire