United States
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

New US Representatives to SCAR

Dear US Antarctic Community,

US-SCAR is happy to announce three new US representatives to SCAR Standing Science Groups (SSGs) on the Geosciences and Physical Sciences.

Physical Sciences

  • Lu Lu, Assistant Professor, Physics Department and Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center, University of Wisconsin
  • Kirsty Tinto, Lamont Associate Research Professor, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University


  • Julia Wellner, Associate Professor, Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Houston

Our outgoing US representatives to these two committees are David Bromwich (The Ohio State University), Erin Pettit (Oregon State University) and Sridhar Anandakrishnan (Pennsylvania State University). We also have an outgoing representative from the Life Sciences Group, Marc Shepanek (NASA). We would like to thank Dave, Erin, Sridhar and Marc for their service and dedication as US representatives over the past years, and we look forward to their continued participation in SCAR.

SCAR has three SSGs as part of its organizational structure: Life Sciences Group, Physical Sciences Group and Geosciences Group. The SSGs have official representatives from each SCAR member, appointed by a national committee. For the US, the National Academies Polar Research Board (PRB) is the national committee and has made the appointments above.

Sincerely, The US-SCAR Team

2022 SCAR Open Science Conference (online, abstract deadline June 1)