United States
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

National Security Memorandum on United States Policy on the Antarctic Region

Today, President Biden signed a National Security Memorandum (NSM) on United States Policy on the Antarctic Region, just ahead of the 46th Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting. This policy reaffirms the United States' commitment to leading cooperative international efforts through the Antarctic Treaty System (ATS) to ensure the Antarctic Region remains dedicated to peaceful purposes. It also emphasizes the importance of protecting Antarctica's pristine environment and ecosystems, recognizing its critical role in the global climate system, and supporting ongoing scientific research. 

The U.S. Antarctic Program, managed on behalf of the nation by the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF), supports three year-round stations on the continent and assets dedicated to exploring and understanding the Southern Ocean. In partnership with other Federal science agencies, NSF supports world-class research in Antarctica in aeronomy and astrophysics, ecology, atmospheric sciences, biology and medicine, geology and geophysics, glaciology, and ocean and climate systems, and living marine resources. 

Read the full memorandum on the White House website and access the fact sheet.

Terri Edillon 
Lead Communications Specialist 
NSF Office of Polar Programs 
Office: 703-292-7521 | Mobile: 703-398-2201 
Email: tedillon@nsf.gov 

2415 Eisenhower Ave, Alexandria, VA 22314, USA