United States
Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

2022 SCAR Medals include two US scientists

Congratulations to the 2022 SCAR Medal Awardees, which include two US scientists:

  • Elisabeth Sikes (Rutgers University), SCAR Medal for Excellence in Antarctic Research
  • Stephen Ackley (University of Texas at San Antonio), SCAR Medal for International Scientific Coordination

Other recipients: Pippa Whitehouse (Durham University, UK), SCAR Medal for Excellence in Antarctic Research; and Bethan Davies (Royal Holloway University and Newcastle University, UK), SCAR Medal for Education and Communication

See full citations for the 2022 Medals

The SCAR Medals Award Ceremony was part of the Closing Ceremony of the SCAR 2022 Open Science Conference (OSC) held on Friday August 5. The Ceremony can be accessed through the meeting platform. All session recordings are available from the meeting website (free registration required) - here is a quick view of the full OSC schedule with instructions on how to locate recordings.