US Department of State

US Seal US Department of State

The United States has strong diplomatic interests in Antarctica, in particular promoting its status as a continent reserved for peace and science in accordance with the provisions of the Antarctic Treaty of 1959. The United States played a major role in negotiating this Treaty, which was signed in Washington, and it participates actively in all aspects of the Antarctic Treaty System. There are currently 46 parties to the Treaty, of which 28 are consultative parties having the right to participate in decision-making.

Read more……